Smart Tips for Building a Local Following

Building a local following on social media

How to Build a Local Social Media Following

People tend to care a lot about the number of followers they have on social media. For small businesses, having lots of followers is not a bad thing at all, there are other metrics you might want to focus on.

Having people follow your social media accounts from all over the world is great, as it gives you exposure. However, your local followers can have an immediate impact on your business. In contrast, someone in a different state might not be interested in the products or services you offer, but in the information you share. There is no harm in that, but if you’re looking to use social media to increase your reach and conversions, focusing on attracting loyal followers is key.

Meet the Locals Where They Are

Are people in your area more likely to use Facebook over Instagram? Then a Facebook profile is a must for your business. Is there a local forum or website where locals spend their time? Find out what it is and create a profile for your business. That will allow you to interact and engage more with your local audience.

Be Where Your Local Competitors Are

Is there a local online marketplace where your competitors have registered and spend their time? If so, you should be there too. Being where they are will give you the same possibilities of attracting a customer.

Smart phone next to laptop

Talk About Local Events

If things are happening locally, that relate to your business talk about them on your social media accounts. That will get people talking and help them take notice of your business.

Showcase Your Involvement in the Community

Have you been a part of any social event recently? Maybe you participated in a fair, fundraiser, or a festival. That gives you the perfect opportunity to show your followers you are involved in your community and gives you some exposure,

Geotag Your Posts

Both Instagram and Facebook allow you to tag your posts with their location. That is a great way to make it easier for locals to find your page get and get more people interested in your business.

Take Advantage of Local Hashtags

Do a little research to find out which hashtags are trending in your area —such as #Colorado or #CO, if you’re in Colorado— and use them in your posts wherever it may seem relevant with your content. Another great way to put your business in front of more people.

 

Try out these tips and watch your local following grow!

How Reputation Management Can Benefit Your Small Business

Reputation management for small businesses

Why Reputation Management Is Important for Small Businesses

In the old days, companies would gain customers mostly by word of mouth. If a friend of a friend told someone that they liked a certain product or service, that was enough to convince them to purchase it too. Word of mouth marketing still exists today, and it is still a compelling way to gain customers. However, the way it happens has changed.

The Internet plays a huge role in word of mouth marketing today because people don’t just physically tell others about the products they love, they are likely to share it on social media or somewhere else online, like on review platforms.

Cleaning Up Your Online Reputation

Your online reputation depends a lot on the opinions of your customers and how they state them online for others to see. Reputation management helps deal with both positive and negative reviews so that your brand always comes out on top and minimize the impact that negative remarks can have on your business. But that’s not all. 

Reputation management is about using different tools and strategies —such as website optimization, link building, social media management and review management— to create positive content for your business. Here is how reputation management can benefit your business.

Woman at work

Protects Your Branding

Part of reputation management is about being actively aware of how your brand is perceived online. One of the most important elements to look after is your branding, as it helps customers identify your business. Your brand should be attached to anything you do online to build your credibility.

Helps Retain Customers

Keeping a close eye on your online reputation will help you increase customer retention, as you can easily prevent negative information for contaminating your image.

Rectifies Inaccurate Information

All of your online information should be spot-on. Any inaccurate info will reflect negatively on your business. Reputation management helps ensure the accuracy of your information across websites to keep search engines from flagging you.

For your business to remain relevant in today’s world, it needs to have an online presence, and you have that, reputation management is a critical component for your digital marketing strategies.

Essential Elements for Your Local Marketing Efforts to Succeed

local marketing

How to Succeed at Local Marketing for Your Small Business

Thanks to the Internet, our lives today are different. It has simplified everything and proposed a new way to do business that we all love. However, in this game, large companies have the upper hand, and small businesses need to do their due diligence to stay relevant.

One of the best ways small businesses can make room for themselves in this crazy-competitive world is by leveraging the benefits of local marketing. Appealing to their local audience is the way to go. Here are some essential elements that will help you succeed at local marketing.

Manage Your Local Listings

The information available on your locals listings, like Google My Business, is extremely important. Before you get into SEO, you must make sure the data on your listings is clear and accurate —you know, business name, phone number, address, contact email address, business hours, and accepted payment methods. Including detailed information about your products and services is a plus.

Care for Local SEO

There is no denying that SEO is essential for digital marketing, especially local marketing. Optimizing your website for local search results is a must unless you want to compete directly with every business that has a website up and running online. So, make sure your website is responsive, set up a profile on local review sites, do keyword research and use SEO good practices on your website.

satisfied customer

Consider Creating Local Landing Pages

Local landing pages can increase your conversion rates, are great for lead generation and can help reduce bounce rates. Be sure local landing pages are optimized before they go live.

Manage Your Reputation

It may sound odd but reputation management is critical for any small business. After all, word-of-mouth has a big impact on what your potential customers think of your business. Manage your reviews and address them as needed. Many customers will check out your ratings and comments about your business before they make a buying-decision.

 

If you want to compete locally, your digital marketing strategy should be focused on local. This will help you increase your local traffic and attract more customers.

 

Simple Ways to Promote Your Website

How to Promote Your Website

Promotion Tips for Your Small Business Website

Even if you invest a fortune on the coolest website, it’s purpose is not going to be fulfilled if no one knows about it. There’s some advertising involved in spreading the word about your website and how it can help address the needs of your potential customers.

For people to know you have a website, you must promote it. Otherwise, it is just going to be floating out there in cyberspace. Here are some tips that will help you promote your website and organically work your way up the search results pages.

Make SEO a Priority

One of the most effective ways to promote your website is through good SEO. SEO requires planning, even before you start producing content for your website. Be sure you do keyword research so you can find out which keywords are most relevant to your business and can target them later on in your content. Focusing on keywords that have high search frequency but low competition is a good strategy.

Produce Quality Content

Writing blog posts for readers is not just about publishing something every week; it’s about what your audience wants to read. Quality content provides value to your audience, helps you rank higher on search results, and gains visibility.

open laptop on desk

Create a Google My Business Page

A Google My Business page will help put you in front of your local audience and gain visibility. When customers search for your name or for services similar to what you offer, your Google My Business page should pop up right at the top of the search results, which is a great way to capture more leads.

Work on Your Branding

Your brand image is the face of your company. Investing in creating a brand that draws people in and is recognizable will pay off. Be sure to put your brand on every digital output. Include it in your URL, emails —by creating an email signature, text messages, and all of your print advertising, as well.

 

Promoting your website is not complicated but does require a plan of action and proper execution. With the help of experts in the digital marketing field, this process can be much quicker and smoother.

Are Your Email Marketing Campaigns Generating Engagement?

hands holding iphone

Email Marketing Engagement Matters

Email marketing is not a groundbreaking way to promote your business. It may not seem like the most exciting type of digital marketing, but it is effective.

Did you know that approximately 70% of people aged 18 to 34 use email as a preferred way to communicate with companies? In fact, that number increases when we look at what people aged 35 to 44 or 45 to 54 prefer. That means the opportunity is there. Your customers want to remain in touch with you via email. So, how do you know if your email marketing campaign is rendering the results you expect?

Engagement basically means how much your readers are opening your emails or interacting with them somehow, like clicking on a link. Looking at metrics like opens, reopens, replies, forwards and other types of interactions, you can understand the level of engagement of your customers with your email marketing campaign.

Email marketing is measurable

Engagement Should be Top of Mind

When creating an email marketing campaign, the main idea is not to just generate mass emails and distribute them to a long list of subscribers. It may sound simple but sometimes your team of professionals can help light the way. Even if your emails look nice, are they really what your readers want or need? After all, your leads will only turn into customers if they show interest and start engaging with you. The components of an email are subject and preheader text, message and copy, and lastly, CTAs. Putting thought into each will really make a difference. 

How you craft your emails will directly impact engagement but there are other elements that can help you produce a successful email marketing campaign. It’s all about careful and thoughtful planning. That’s what will take your email marketing campaign from good to great!

How to Set Up Your Google My Business Page

Woman in front of computer

Your Google My Business Page Can Be Ready in No Time

By now, we know that having a Google My Business listing matters. It helps your local SEO and gives your business more visibility. People who search for a product or service online usually visit a store on that same day, trying to get what they need. Imagine if your business shows up on their search. Boom. Sales. It’s an excellent place to focus your efforts, especially when you’re starting.

When you first get started, you might feel a little overwhelmed. It happens with everything you have to do for the first time. You might not know what to do or where to go. That’s ok, though. We got you.

Create Your Listing

You will need a Google My Business listing to kick things off. All you have to do is:

  1. Assuming you already have a Google account that you want to be associated to your Google My Business listing, log into it. Otherwise, you should start by creating a Google account.
  2. Visit google.com/business and click on “Start Now” at the top of the page.
  3. Enter your business name, followed by your address. You can keep your address private if you work out of your home.
  4. Choose the correct business category. This is very important, as you are telling Google what kind of customers should see your listing.
  5. Add your business website or phone number.
  6. Select a verification option. You can select “try a different method” and then click on “later” if you’re not ready to verify your business just yet.

Verify Your Business

To ensure you indeed created your listing, Google asks that you verify it. There’s more than one way to do it: by postcard, phone, email, instant verification, or bulk verification.

Google allows most businesses to go through the verification process by phone, but in some cases, the option to verify by email will be available, but Google will make the call. Let’s go through the most common options:

Verifying Google account

Verify by Phone

  • Once you’re logged in to Google My Business, confirm your phone number is correct and click on Verify by Phone.
  • You’ll receive a text to your phone with a verification code. Enter that code, and you’re all set.

Verify by Email

  • Once you’re logged in to Google My Business, confirm your email address is correct and click on Verify by Email.
  • Check your inbox for an email from Google My Business. It will contain a verification code and a button that takes you to the verification page. Just click on it to verify your account with the code given.

Finish Up Your Profile

After verifying you will need to add some information —including photos— about your business in the “Info” section. Make sure it is as accurate as possible. Anyone can suggest edits to your listing, so getting it right the first time will prevent random people from suggesting or making edits. Also, keep your information up to date. If anything changes, be sure to update your profile with the new information.

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Boost Your Online Presence with Video Marketing

Boost Your Online Presence with Video Marketing

How Video Benefits Your Online Presence

In today’s world, it is essential for businesses to have a strong online presence. You can be actively involved in the digital world through social media, your website, web analytics, SEO, but there’s something else, something small businesses don’t usually consider, but it is a great way to boost your online presence: video.

Video marketing allows you to reach a specific audience effectively. People like content that is relevant, easily relatable and quick to digest. Most people would prefer to watch a 5-minute video than to read a 500-word post. That doesn’t mean written content is not important. It targets a specific segment of your audience, too.

More and more business are using video marketing to reach more people, boost their online presence and increase revenue. Here are three ways in which video marketing can help strengthen your online presence.

How Video Benefits Your Online PresenceGood for SEO

Search engines really like videos. A website that uses video, can have up to 50% higher rank in SEO, as it can drive more traffic to your website from SERPs. Video also helps minimize your bounce rates because people tend to spend more time on pages that have video, than on those that don’t. And, if your video content is really awesome you can get a lot of backlinks.

Generates Trust

A business that put videos on their website about themselves, their story and the work they do, provide their audience a greater sense of trust since they can see who they’re doing business with. Using video provides value and it simplifies the process of your audience getting to know you.

Improves Brand Awareness

If there is one great way for your brand to tell its story, it’s through video. It helps you convey your message much more clearly and draws people in. Videos are also shared more frequently than other types of content, which increases your chances of reaching a larger audience.

 

Want to improve your online presence? Impressions Agency can help you design the best path to achieve this goal through digital marketing. Let’s talk!

PPC

SEO is the most effective and natural way for your business to be found online through search engines like Google and Yahoo! It provides the long-term sustainable brand recognition your company needs to consistently rank at the top of search results.

What is PPC?

Pay per click means that your business will pay money for every ad click. You might be spending a few cents per click or as much as $10 + a click. If you have a $100 budget and your cost per click is around $10 that means that you will get 10 clicks. I know what you are thinking, 10 clicks for a $100 dollars sounds expensive and I would like to agree with you.PPC could cost a lot of money and that all depends on the algorithms Google has set-up for the keywords you are targeting.

Should I use PPC or Should I not?

If you have been able to dial in your website’s sales funnel then this might be a good reason to use PPC. What does this actually mean? Here are some questions to guide you:

  • Do you know what your customer is worth / valued at? Maybe $5, $50, $100, or a $1,000. You need to determine what dollar amount your customer is valued at.
  • Do you know if your website is converting and if so do you know what your conversion rate is? For example, if you know that you are getting a 10% conversion on all the traffic that comes to your website then it might be a good idea to use PPC.

Let’s build a scenario by using a $100 budget with a customer valued at a $1000 and another customer valued at $100.

If we had a $100 budget and every one of our clicks cost $10 that would mean that we would only get 10 clicks right?

Please use the example below with your customer value too!

  • If your customer value is $1,000 and you have $100 budget at $10 a click that would equal 10 clicks. At a 10% conversion rate off of 10 clicks, that would mean that you would get 1 new potential lead and because your budget was $100 that means your lead cost would be a $100 per lead. Now the question that you need to ask yourself is a lead worth $100 for a $1,000 sale. Maybe?
  • If you put the same math towards a customer value at $100, you would notice that you are losing money every time that you get a new web lead at $10 a click, converting 10% of your clicks.

At Impressions, you would not believe how many times we see one of our clients lose money with every PPC lead. This is why we recommend having a strong website audit.

I hope now you notice or understand that most of the time you need to put in a lot of steps into place before using PPC. With the biggest step being, you need to know if your website or landing page converts well.

One of the largest complications is that most small to mid-size businesses have a small to mid-size digital marketing budget. If you spend your dollars they need to make you new dollars not lose them! And if your sales funnel is not built out correctly then chances are you will lose dollars.